Battery Attorney Serving Hillsborough County, Merrimack County, and Rockingham County
Battery refers to unlawful physical contact with another person that is offensive or causes harm. In New Hampshire, battery is charged as “assault,” and charges can stem from many different scenarios from bar fights to domestic conflicts. No matter what type of situation led to your arrest and charges, you should have the representation of a Hillsborough County, Merrimack County, and Rockingham County battery defense lawyer right away. Contact a battery attorney at Sweeney Law Office to learn how we can protect your rights throughout the criminal process.
Battery Charges and Penalties
There are different degrees of battery and assault charges under New Hampshire law, and your charges and potential penalties will depend on the circumstances that led to your arrest. The following are possible charges and consequences you might face:
- Simple assault = Misdemeanor charge, up to 1 year in jail, fines up to $2,000
- Second-degree assault = Class B felony charge, 3.5 to 7 years in prison, fines up to $2,000
- First-degree assault = Class A felony charge, 7.5 to 15 years in prison, fines up to $4,000
The right lawyer will know how to fight to have your case dismissed or, at least, have the charges or penalties reduced. One common defense to battery is self-defense, though this is a complex legal principle, and you want an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side to present this defense when applicable.
Seek Help from a Skilled Battery Lawyer in Hillsborough County, Merrimack County, and Rockingham County
If you are arrested for battery, your first call should be to the Sweeney Law Office for defense assistance. We handle complex criminal cases throughout Hillsborough County, Merrimack County, and Rockingham County, so please do not wait to contact us online or call 877.223.2856. We are ready to help.