Marijuana Possession in New Hampshire
Even as states surrounding New Hampshire are legalizing recreational marijuana, the Granite State has not yet passed a similar law. This means that if you possess marijuana in New Hampshire without medical permission, you can face penalties under the law.
The good news is that New Hampshire has decriminalized marijuana possession under many circumstances. If you are accused of possessing less than .75 ounces for personal use, you will not face any possible jail time, and the maximum penalty for a first or second offense is a $100 fine.
However, there are still many situations in which marijuana possession can result in criminal charges, including:
- Possessing more than .75 ounces for personal use = Misdemeanor charge with up to one year in jail and $350 in fines
- Possessing less than an ounce with the intent to sell or distribute = Felony charge with up to three years in prison and $25,000 in fines
- Possessing one ounce to five pounds with the intent to sell or distribute = Felony charge with up to seven years in prison and $100,000 in fines
- Possessing more than five pounds with the intent to sell or distribute = Felony charge with up to 20 years in prison and $300,000 in fines
As you can see, the possible charges and penalties for marijuana possession can escalate quickly, and the penalties can increase for multiple offenses or possession near a school. It is important to know marijuana laws and seek help from a Bedford criminal defense attorney right away if you are arrested.
Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Bedford Right Away
After an arrest for drug possession, Shawn P. Sweeney, Attorney at Law, can help. We defend against all types of criminal charges, so please call 888.339.7491 or contact us online to learn how we can help you.